What is the Gardening Cycle?

what is the gardening cycle plant life stages

Plants can live from a few days to months depending upon their type but they go through distinct stages of changes as they grow, just as animals and humans do. The basic stages that plants go through starts from seed to sprout, then gradually  through vegetative stage, budding stage, flowering stage, and finally the stage of ripening.

When you’re ready to start your garden, it is important that each stage in the process be considered. From seed selection and soil preparation all the way through planting seeds or bulbs (for example: potatoes) there are specific needs at every step of your gardening project!

1.     Sprout

There is a small parcel of nutrients in each seed which contains all the essential nutrients for germinating and growing into leaves.

2.     Seedling

As plants’ roots start spreading around and developing, well balanced nutrients according to the type of plants are being provided which helps in the rapid growth of spindly seedling into a healthy pant.

3.     Vegetative

Plants contain a green pigment called chlorophyll. The key component of chlorophyll is nitrogen, so it’s the critical nutrient which provides energy for growing stalks and foliage.

4.     Budding

At the start of a plant’s reproductive cycle, Phosphorus is in high demand, which aids in the transformation of growing leaves into buds.

5.     Flowering

Plants use Potassium as a primary nutrient for producing and transporting of sugar and starch which is used by plants for developing healthy flowers and fruit.

6.     Ripening

When flowers and fruit of the gardening plants are getting to their full maturity, they need plain water without nutrients for one to two weeks. This lets them use up all the absorbed nutrients and transport them throughout the plant. This process is called “flushing”

what are the stages of gardening

Knowing the life cycle of plants is important for designing a garden. A plant’s lifespan depends on how long it takes from seedling to become mature enough and bloom, as well as production rates before ultimately dying off. Depending on the plant selection, your garden design can focus on color, form, or foliage.

Plants belong in one of three following categories: annuals, biennials, and perennials.

  1. Annuals

Annual plants complete their life cycle in a single growing season. They typically sprout out from seed in spring season, bloom, produce seeds, and eliminate before winter comes again.

Annual plants are best selection for you if you want the most bangs for your buck. Most of the garden vegetables and many herbs are annuals, because they need to be replanted every year.

  1. Biennials

Biennial plants live for two growing seasons. In the first year, they sprout and grow their leaves and root while flowers and seeds come in the second growing season, after which the plant eradicated. Biennials are relatively less common in home gardens.

  1. Perennials

Perennial plants live for at least three seasons, and many live more than that in the right being provided by right climate. Perennials can be of two types i.e.   herbaceous, the plants with soft stems that die to the ground in winter season and grow back from their roots, or woody, those with hard stems or trunks (like trees, shrubs, and woody vines). Woody perennials are of great importance in creating a backdrop for other plants, and provide them with a habitat for wildlife.

Perennial flowers have a distinct blooming period lasting several weeks, although some flowers keep on blooming throughout the summer. By choosing a combination of early-, mid-, and late-season bloomers, you can have continuous color as different flowers bloom and fade. 

So that’s it!  I hope this gives you a solid overview and understanding of the gardening life cycle.